Sint Eustatius Netherlands Antilles Shopping

Budget there is an island in the Caribbean near the Netherlands, St. Eustatius, sometimes called Statia. The island has a well-deserved reputation as an excellent place to shop and competes with Saint Thomas and the US Virgin Islands for prices, where there are slightly fewer shops.

St. Eustatius has no water taxi and is dependent on seawater for drinking water like Bonaire and Curacao. There is no public water supply, but it is shared with other islands in the Caribbean, such as St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Barbados.

The islands Saba and Sint Eustatius differ from islands like Bonaire and Curacao in that they are not oriented towards mass tourism. Essentially, they have the same tax system, with only minor differences between the islands. Be prepared for a small departure tax, but it is only USD 10, which is only applicable in places outside the Netherlands Antilles.

For a relaxing holiday on a not crowded island, tourists should visit Sint Eustatius (also known as Statia Statius), which is also home to the largest population in the Netherlands Antilles.

The name of the island of Sint Eustatius is a reference to Saint Eustachius (also spelled "Eustachius" or "Eusathius," a legendary Christian martyr known in Spanish as San eustaquio). The name of the island of Eintatious is a tribute to Saint Thomas Aquinas, the legendary Christian martyr known in Spain as "San Eastaquío."

Sint Eustatius is located on a land mass of 21 km2, and this remote outpost includes a small village of about 1,000 inhabitants and a few small towns.

The Netherlands Antilles were formed in the late 19th century as a result of the Treaty of Utrecht between the Netherlands and the United States of America. Historically, Aruba was one of six islands within the Federation, including the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, Saba, Curacao, Antigua and Barbuda, as well as St. Kitts and Nevis. On 1 January 1986 it became a separate entity within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. After it was separated from the Dutch East Indies (now the Republic of New Zealand) in 1986 and 1991, CurACao and Sints Maarten followed suit, integrating both into the actual Dutch West Indies. In 1992, after it was separated from the Netherlands, they, along with the other three islands, became part of the Kingdom of Holland.

Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius became part of the Netherlands on 1 January 1992, along with Curacao, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

After the entry into force of the Statute, the Kingdom consisted of 6 Caribbean islands, consisting of the Netherlands, Suriname, the Netherlands and the Antilles. The remaining islands of Sint Eustatius, Curacao, Antigua and Barbuda, as well as St. Kitts and Nevis, were to become part of this region and thus form the "Caribbean part" of the Netherlands. Since then, all have voted for direct relations with the Netherlands in the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) and are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (with the exception of Aruba and Sints Maarten, which are actually two separate countries, one of which is mainly located in Europe). The only remaining island, St. Estero, with less than 1,000 inhabitants, is an independent country, as is the Netherlands itself.

Under the Dutch Treaty Directives, the BES islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba are part of the "Caribbean" and are part of the European Union (ECHR) and the United Nations Convention on Human Rights (UNCHR). Under the Dutch Treaty Directives, it includes the islands of Bes Bonsai and Sints Eastatious and Saba as "Caribbean Beans" in its Caribbean part and includes them in the EU (EHR).

Of the 34 inhabitants born on the islands, 11 were born on Sint Maarten, 10 on Bonaire and 11 on Eustatius, according to the latest census data.

Curacao and St. Maarten are separate countries in the Kingdom of the Netherlands, while Aruba has been separated since 1986. Curacado and SintMaarten received a new constitutional structure in 2002, with the founding of their own state, the Republic of Curacado, and a different constitution. Until 1986 it had a separate status as a kingdom and was long part of the Netherlands Antilles, but separated.

Curacao and St. Maarten became self-governing territories after the sixth Dutch-speaking island in the Caribbean, which broke away in 1986. Curacado and Sinton are both self-governing, with the exception of the island of Aruba and the islands of Barbados, Saint Kitts and Nevis and St Lucia.

Since independence from the Netherlands East Indies in 1948, Aruba has been part of the Netherlands Antilles, with the exception of Curacao and St. Maarten.

It was not until 1954 that the Dutch granted Aruba self-government, and Sint Eustatius became a special municipality in the Netherlands. After the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in October 2010, St. EUSTATius decided to become a "special parish" of the Netherlands Antilles. While other islands have decided to leave the island and land in the Netherlands Antilles, the Island Council has chosen a different path and, like Saba and Bonaire, has become a special municipality of the Netherlands. In 2009, after a series of referendums on the independence of the islands of Aruban and Curacao and the Caribbean Islands, Sints Eusanee and Estrada became special municipalities of the "Netherlands" and in 2011, in response to a request by the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) for their own independent state.

More About Sint Eustatius

More About Sint Eustatius